O, to live confidently

My aunt has a Pomeranian. His name is Taz. This dog loves to eat human food. I’m in the Lone Star State for the holidays and have witnessed his recent rewards for patiently waiting: boiled eggs, pancake medallions, candied bacon pieces, chicken. In addition to the typical doggie diet, Taz eats well. 

The other day, I was eating a cookie oreo brownie on the couch. And where was Taz? Right by my feet, hoping I would drop a morsel his way or treat him to some of the gooey goodness altogether. If you know anything about dogs, chocolate can make them terribly sick. Knowing that, I wasn’t going to give him something that would harm him; even if he wanted it.

I sat there in my humanness thinking about how often I had waited patiently for something I wanted, praying expectantly to God believing He’d give it to me simply because I asked. But that’s not how life always works, now is it?

No good thing will God withhold from those who walk upright (Psalm 84:11). He withholds no good thing. Sometimes we don’t get what we want when we want it because it’s not good for us. In fact, some of our desires can bring harm. And knowing this, God looks down at our expectant, hopeful faces with outstretched arms and gives a gentle “No.”

I don’t always understand why some things don’t work out the way I hope. That’s perfectly alright. It takes simple trust that God knows best. I’ll get my good thing and it’ll be without heartache or sickness.

 

6 comments

  1. Rose B. · December 26, 2016

    Great post! P.S. Send Taz my way lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. colivier · December 26, 2016

    Great read! Thanks for the reminder 😊 Sounds like my dog lol!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LaBridgette Rawls · December 28, 2016

    Loved this post. It is encouraging. I will continue to trust the Lord

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Symoine · December 28, 2016

    Good stuff! Thanks for posting! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Emmy · December 28, 2016

    This is so good Fel! I need this reminder. Love you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kelvin T. Wells · December 31, 2016

    Amen! Awesome read.

    Like

Leave a comment